Please or Register to create posts and topics.

[Warning: stupidly long post] Does Full-Frame Make Sense for Non-Professionals in 2023?

Page 1 of 2Next

Warning: this is a long and rambly post-verging-on-essay. Apologies. See tl;dr towards the bottom.

I'm having a mild crisis with regards to full-frame cameras and, really, to large-sensor cameras in general, especially as they relate to non-professionals, art photography, street photography, and candid portraits.

Background info: I'm not a professional and I don't shoot sports, cars, birds, etc. As a hobbyist I'm most interested in art photography (whatever that means), urban/semi-urban landscapes, and night photography. I like street photography and portraiture too (especially candid and environmental portraiture) but I've not done a whole lot (street because I currently live in a small town in central Iowa, where there's no one actually *on* the streets, and portraiture because I'm not enough of a people-person to source and soothe willing models). I sometimes do nature/landscape stuff too (especially when I'm back home in Scotland), mainly because natural landscapes are a good, immobile, varied, and reliable subject. Still, ultimately I most appreciate art photography, urban/semi-urban landscape, candid portraiture, and night photography. So far so good.