Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Recommend a $150 camera kit for a kid in a new country

Hi everyone,
I am a high schooler moving into a new country (USA) in a few weeks and was wondering what camera and lens I should buy. I am a complete beginner in the world of photography and know very little about cameras and especially lenses. It would be much appreciated if you could suggest me a camera and a lens with which I could do some architecture/street photography. I was thinking of getting the Canon EOS 40D with a EF-S 18-55mm lens. I would like to hear your insights on whether it would be good for me. Coming from taking pictures on a 5 year old budget android phone, anything would be a drastic improvement for me but I would like to make an informed choice given that I have such a tight budget. Thanks in advance!

Have a look at the Panasonic lumix g1. In uk it’s very cheap, 12mp micro 4/3 sensor, flip out swivel screen, I’ve just picked one up and love it. Great images from it and very easy to use not to mention very light.

Welcome, @doughnut-on-a-stick! I think you've come to the right place for recommendations like this. @james-warner-b and others here do a great job of finding and using inexpensive cameras with great results. Just chiming in with a few ideas:

• Pentax K10D: There are a lot of great examples on this site of people using this camera with beautiful results. I want one myself! Anyway, they seem to be rather available on ebay, and elsewhere. Most everyone else here can chime in better than I about this camera, but, it seems like a cool, solid bet.

If you don't mind a camera without a viewfinder, there are a couple that come to mind:

• Olympus E-P1: They seem to be out there on ebay with an included kit 14-42mm lens for under $150.