Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Nifty Fifty (50mm prime) Lens Club

PreviousPage 4 of 5Next
Quote from denniscrommett on March 8, 2022, 2:06 am

Thank you, @jbp! (and for the like, @sprucebruce; is it just me, or is it nice to see those thumbs up from other trusted photo enthusiast pals on here?)

Let me start this off with a big sigh and a self-eye-roll, ha. I have tried many Fujis. I have spent most of my time taking photos with an X-T1, which I have at work for casually capturing stuff, so that is definitely in the mix. Outside of that, I've tried lots of things, but have now come back to that X-Trans II sensor (which is in the X-T1, X-E2, X-E2s, X100T, and X70), because to me, there is just something about it that feels warm, real, almost "buttery," and somehow "deeper," as compared to the next sensor up, X-Trans III, which is in the X-T2. Last week, the X-T2 just felt "Too Good," honestly. If I was a pro, using it for paid work, sure, maybe. But I have since sold the X-T2 to get an X-E2s which comes tomorrow. I've had one before, and it felt so right to me. So, all that blathering is to say, if you'd like to check out a Fuji situation, I absolutely recommend the X-T1 or X-E2 etc., and whatever lens sounds fun. The 27mm f2.8 is so cool, sharp, and cheap(ish), as is the XC 35mm f2.

Anyway. Thanks for enjoying the photos. Clearly I could go on about this. Luckily, all the snow in those photos has now melted, and it's feeling more like spring here today.

Ah, gotcha, that makes sense. I recently saw a youtube video where the guy said the same thing as you about the sensors and that's why he went back to his X-T1 over the newer models. I've seen it with other brands, too. Lots of people seem to prefer the rendering of the 16mp cameras. I wonder if something was lost once we went above that resolution, somehow.