Please or Register to create posts and topics.

I owe you one

I work as an animator and was window shopping for cameras for a long time in search of something that could film better animation reference than my phone. Learned a lot watching people who cover modern cameras, and knowing I could buy a camera cheaper if I already had or could adapt a lens I bought a super sweet Ricoh Film Camera from an estate sale that came with a seemingly solid lens (it is).
Turns out old Ricoh cameras used Pentax' Mount and while researching that I found the snappiness YouTube channel- in my opinion, home to the most competent Pentax coverage on the platform. In watching your channel I was blown away by the value of older cameras and immediately switched gears from "what's the fanciest thing I can buy on my budget" to "How old can I go and still get the job done?"
Turns out my mom used Pentax as we were growing up so we had a good chunk of k-mount glass, and I ended up buying an excellent used K-70 in January (not the oldest thing necessarily, but 24mp and a great better deal than the Sony alphas). It's been awesome taking pictures with, and though I'm still absolutely in my photographic infancy I'm enjoy myself immensely!
So thank you for the help, And it's time I posted some stuff here

agentlossing, Tristan Carlos and 2 other users have reacted to this post.
agentlossingTristan CarlosdenniscrommettJBP

Welcome to the forums. I'm looking forward to your posts!

Cheers,

T

Pierson Mason has reacted to this post.
Pierson Mason
Quote from Pierson Mason on April 2, 2022, 11:17 pm

I work as an animator and was window shopping for cameras for a long time in search of something that could film better animation reference than my phone. Learned a lot watching people who cover modern cameras, and knowing I could buy a camera cheaper if I already had or could adapt a lens I bought a super sweet Ricoh Film Camera from an estate sale that came with a seemingly solid lens (it is).