Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Hello There

I found the site from YouTube, like I imagine most of you others did as well, and had to say Hi. The Venn diagram of content here and my interest has a pretty massive overlap. I'm a machinist/designer who lives in New York. I make scientific equipment, among other things professionally, but have always been able to make stuff on the side, including camera stuff. 

My photo history starts with an absolute fascination with electronics as a kid. I loved plugging in AV equipment, riding my bike to Target and checking out the specs of all the cameras, and was generally a gear hound from go. My first camera was a Fujifilm FinePix A101, coming in at a whopping 1.3mp. This was 2001 and I was 13 or 14. My next camera was the, fits-in-an-altoids-tin, Pentax OptioS. I did keep it in a felted Altoids tin as well. From there I got the original Canon Digital Rebel but my interest in photography slipped a bit for years in lieu of cars bikes and other hobbies. When that camera finally died many years later I bought the Ricoh GR. This was 2013 and I spent more on it than I had in savings at the time but it was totally worth it. Selling that camera in 2020 was a massive mistake that I regret to this day. 

During the pandemic I took up photography and my interest in cameras in a new and absolutely obsessive way starting with a Fuji XT3, which is to this day the best camera I have ever owned. I got into 3d printed cameras and lenses. Film stuff with some home brewed developing and scanning at home. A CCD craze in 2022. etc. Among others my haul included:

• Bronica S2
  • Zorki 4K
  • Lomo LCA
  • Mamiya Press (mainly to use the lenses with the 3d printed camera craze)
  • Lumix LX5
  • Lumix GF1
  • Canon S95
  • Canon EOS 1Dsii
  • Ricoh GR (new one)

Here is a more recent project moving the new TT Artisan OVF over to the side of the Ricoh GR with a 3d printed adapter mount.